webinar register page

Webinar banner
IS4 Webinar | Is Democracy Still Relevant to Reduce Nationalist Conflict? Indonesia in Comparative Perspective
Join Professor Jacques Bertrand and Dr Veronika Kusumaryati to understand how democratization can offer pathways away from the violence of nationalist conflict, as long as one manages to avoid the many pitfalls along the way.

In his latest book titled 'Democracy and Nationalist Struggles in Southeast Asia', Professor Jacques Bertrand offers a comparative-historical analysis of five nationalist conflicts over several decades. At a time when democracy appears to be receding in many parts of the world, what can we learn from analyzing the sometimes tenuous period of democracy in Southeast Asia in relation to violent nationalist mobilization? Professor Bertrand will speak to challenges and debates on democracy’s impact on these conflicts. While democratization significantly reduces violent insurgency over time, it often introduces pernicious effects that can fail to resolve conflict and contribute to maintaining deep nationalist grievances. He will offer some insights from Aceh and Papua, and situate them in relation to other conflicts in the region.

About the IS4 Series:
Sponsored by the Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Cornell Southeast Asia Program (SEAP) and the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV), this virtual seminar series brings together social science experts from across the globe to discuss pressing issues facing Indonesia.

TIMEZONES:
3 March 2022, 6am PT / 9am ET / 3pm CET / 9pm WIB

Please note that by registering for this event, you will automatically be subscribed to the SSEAC mailing list. Should you have any questions or wish to discuss accessibility requirements, please feel free to email: sseac@sydney.edu.au.

Mar 3, 2022 09:00 PM in Jakarta

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: SSEAC.