webinar register page

Webinar banner
IS4 Webinar | Why Veil? Religious Headscarves and the Public Role of Women
Join Assistant Professor Naila Shofia and Assistant Professor Vasiliki Fouka for a thought-provoking talk unveiling the socio-economic factors that compel some Indonesian women to wear religious headscarves.

In this talk, Assistant Professor Naila Shofia (Yale-NUS College) will show that new economic opportunities that compel women to abandon their domestic roles have driven the adoption of religious veiling. Using human-coded data of around a quarter million photographs of pupils attached to Indonesian public high school yearbooks, Assistant Professor Shofia measured the prevalence of veiling among young women across Indonesian districts for more than two decades. She exploits exogenous variations generated by the interaction between international demand for Indonesia's product and sectoral and gender composition of local industries to show that the relationship is causal. This study demonstrates that veiling represents an effort by young women to reconcile their desire to join the formal labor market and the prevailing social norms in society.

About the IS4 Series:
Sponsored by the Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Cornell Southeast Asia Program (SEAP) and the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV), this virtual seminar series brings together social science experts from across the globe to discuss pressing issues facing Indonesia.

TIMEZONES:
31 March, 6pm PT / 9pm ET
1 April, 8am WIB / 12pm AET

Please note that by registering for this event, you will automatically be subscribed to the SSEAC mailing list. Should you have any questions or wish to discuss accessibility requirements, please feel free to email: sseac@sydney.edu.au.

Apr 1, 2022 12:00 PM in Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: SSEAC.