webinar register page

Webinar banner
China’s Belt and Road Initiative: A US-Australian assessment
To carry out China’s Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), China promises to spend over US$1 trillion on new ports, railways, fibre-optic cables, power plants, and other connections across more than one hundred and thirty countries. The United States has cautioned that the BRI, President Xi Jinping’s flagship foreign-policy effort, amounts to “debt trap diplomacy”, “white elephants”, and an unprecedented expansion of Chinese military power. Yet some have said the United States and allies have failed to provide a sufficient “alternative” to BRI. How should the United States and allies like Australia respond? The conventional wisdom is that a more skeptical view of China is bipartisan in the United States but would a Biden administration’s response to BRI be substantively different from the Trump administration’s?

Please join us for a discussion of the United States, Australia and China’s Belt and Road Initiative with Jonathan E. Hillman, author of the recently published The Emperor’s New Road: China and the Project of the Century (Yale University Press, 2020), in a conversation with the Australian Financial Review’s Lisa Murray.

WASHINGTON DC | Monday, 16 November | 7:30 - 8:30pm EST
PERTH | Tuesday, 17 November | 8:30am - 9:30am AWST
SYDNEY | Tuesday, 17 November | 11:30am - 12:30pm AEDT

Nov 17, 2020 11:30 AM in Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: USSC Events.