webinar register page

Webinar banner
TS4 Webinar | Living in Interesting Times: Patterns and Problems in Contemporary Thai Politics
Join Professor Hicken (University of Michigan) to delve into some of the complex issues impacting contemporary Thai politics.

The last quarter century has been politically tumultuous, even by Thai historical standards. In this talk Professor Hicken will discuss the evolution (and de-evolution) of political attitudes, behaviors, and institutions in Thailand. The talk will highlight the changes he observed (both promising and worrisome), as well as some surprising continuities.

About the TS4 Series:
Sponsored by the Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Nordic Institute of Asian Studies (NIAS) and the New York Southeast Asia Network (NYSEAN), this virtual seminar series brings together social science experts from across the globe to discuss pressing issues facing Thailand. In addition to providing in-depth scholarly analysis of social issues in Thailand, this series will foster new opportunities for networking between those working in Thailand and around the world.

TIMEZONES:
15 September, 07:00 PT / 10:00 ET / 16:00 CET / 21:00 ICT

Please note that by registering for this event, you will automatically be subscribed to the SSEAC mailing list. Should you have any questions or wish to discuss accessibility requirements, please feel free to email: sseac@sydney.edu.au.

Sep 15, 2022 09:00 PM in Bangkok

Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading

Speakers

Allen Hicken
Professor @University of Michigan
Allen Hicken is Professor of Political Science and a Research Professor at the Center for Political Studies, and at the Center for Southeast Asian Studies at the University of Michigan. He studies political parties, institutions, political economy, and policy making with a focus on Thailand and the Philippines. He is the author of a book on parties and elections in Thailand and the Philippines, entitled, Building Party Systems in Developing Democracies (Cambridge) and co-author of Mobilizing for Elections: Patronage and Political Machines in Southeast Asia (Cambridge forthcoming).